In Christ, We are one!

47th Clergy-Laity Host Commitee

Host Parish, St. Spyridon Greek Orthodox Church

St. Spyridon Greek Orthodox Church in San Diego, California serves as a testament to the enduring presence of Orthodoxy in the vibrant tapestry of the city’s religious landscape. Founded in 1927, its immigrant founding members came together to establish a place of worship and community in their new homeland. 

Over the years, as the Greek community in San Diego grew and flourished, so too did their parish community. In 1951, St. Spyridon Greek Orthodox Church experienced such growth and expansion that original members sought out to build a permanent home in the city with its own community center. 

Throughout its history, St. Spyridon has not only served as a place of worship for Orthodox, but also a focal point for Greek culture and heritage in San Diego. From traditional festivals and cultural celebrations to language and youth programs, their community has remained dedicated to preserving promoting not only Orthodoxy in the area, but also the rich Greek culture for future generations to come. 

As they prepare to host this year’s 2024 Clergy-Laity Congress, they do so with a sense of excitement and anticipation for the power that the congress holds, and with the grace of God, His Eminence Archbishop Elpidophoros of America and His Eminence Metropolitan Gerasimos of San Fransisco, the entire community of St. Spyridon, headed by Fr. Andrew Skordalakis, remain confident that they will help facilitate a positive religious experience for all.  

Host Commitee

Host Committee: 

His Eminence Archbishop Elpidophoros of America 

His Eminence Metropolitan Gerasimos of San Fransisco 

Chancellor of the Metropolis of San Francisco - His Grace Bishop Ioannis of Phocea 

Chancellor of Archdiocese - V. Rev. Archimandrite Nektarios Papazafiropoulos 

Mr. John Catsimatides – Vice Chair of the Archdiocesan Council 

Mrs. Elaine Allen – Treasurer of the Archdiocesan Council 

Mr. Nick Karacostas – Secretary of the Archdiocesan Council 

Mr. Isidoros Garifalakis – Vice Chair of the Metropolis of San Fransisco, Congress Co-Chair, and Fundraising Chair 

Mrs. Maria Garifalakis – Congress Co-Chair 

Mr. Gerry Ranglas - Congress Co-Chair 

Mrs. Jeannie Ranglas – Congress Co-Chair 

Mr. Paul Sogotis – Hierarchical Logistics 

Mr. George Psefteas – Finance Committee Co-Chair 

Mr. and Mrs. Jim and Angel Gilpin – Volunteers Chairs 

Mrs. Linda Koundelis – Hospitality Co-Chair 

Mrs. Connie Fellios – Hospitality Co-Chair 

Mr. and Mrs. Spiro and Chris Kailas – Cultural Co-Chairs 

Dr. and Mrs. Tom and Katherine Foster – Cultural Co-Chair 

Mr. and Mrs. George and Vickie Demos – Banquet Chairs 

Rev. Protopresbyter of the Ecumenical Throne Evagoras Constantinides – Congress Coordinator 

Ms. Maria Andriotis – Co-Coordinator 

Ms. Kristen Bruskas – Co-Coordinator 

Mr. Jamil Samara – Co-Coordinator & Director of Internet Ministries 

Rev. Protopresbyter of the Ecumenical Throne Panagiotis Papazafiropoulos – Director of the Office of the Archbishop 

Rev. Archdeacon Dionysios Papiris – Archdeacon of the Archbishop 

Rev. Economos Sotirios Baroody – Chief Financial Officer 

Dr. Stratos Safioleas – Director of Communications 

Mrs. Marissa Costidis – Department of Communications 

Mr. Theo Nicolakis – Director of Information Technology 

Ms. Lailu Walls – Archdiocesan Comptroller 

Mrs. Eva Konstantakos – Director of Y2AM 

Director of the School of Byzantine Music – Mr. Georgios Theodoridis 

Mrs. Arlene Siavelis Kehl - Philoptochos National President 

Mrs. Anita Kartalopoulos – Philoptochos Vice President & Co-Chair 

Mrs. Valine Georgeson – Philoptochos Vice President & Co-Chair 

Mrs. Cynthia Kezos – Philoptochos Co-Chair 

Ms. Amy Kalogeropoulos – Philoptochos Director 

Presvytera Mary Christy – National Sisterhood of Presvyteres President 

Rev. Protopresbyter of the Ecunemical Throne Paul Kaplanis – Archdiocesan Presbyters Council President 

V. Rev. Archimandrite Eugene Pappas – Retired Clergy Association President 

Dr. Anthony Limberakis – Order of Saint Andrew Archon Commander 

Mr. Nicholas Chimitris – National Forum of Church Musicians President 

Mr. George Anagnostopoulos – YAL Conference Chair 
47th Biennial
Clergy-Laity Congress
Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America